In Texas, every vehicle is required to carry auto insurance. Texas is one of a handful of states that only requires drivers to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance pays to repair the other driver’s property (or pay for medical expenses) if you caused the accident. In Texas, the minimum amounts are:
$30,000 of coverage for injuries per person,
up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and
$25,000 in coverage for property damage.
Vehicle owners who drive an uninsured vehicle can face a fine of up to $350 or more if they have previously received a citation.
Additional Insurance Drivers Should Consider Purchasing
Although only liability insurance is required in Texas, additional insurance would be recommended by any personal injury attorney. The reason is because liability insurance does not provide protection to you – the insurance holder – in the event of an auto car crash.
You should buy additional coverage that covers your injuries, your property, and your passengers in the event of an auto accident. This coverage will apply whether or not you were at fault and whether or not the other driver carried liability car insurance. In Texas, 1 in 5 drivers is uninsured. This insurance is called uninsured/underinsured insurance. This type of insurance is obtained through your insurance company and will cover your vehicle and personal injuries damages in the event you are involved in a collision with a driver who is uninsured or does not have enough insurance coverage to cover the value of your damages.
Unfortunately hit and run accidents do happen, and uninsured drivers do cause car accidents. If you face the unfortunate circumstances of a collision with an uninsured driver, uninsured/underinsured insurance will help make sure you’re not stuck paying out of pocket for car repairs and medical bills that weren’t your fault.
If you or someone you know has been seriously injured or killed in a automobile accident, STAY STRONG! Call Armstrong Law.